Dig Baton Rouge

LSU wins SEC Tournament Championship

HOOVER, Ala. — Sean McMullen’s two-run home run in the top of the eight inning gave the third-seeded LSU baseball team its league-best 11th SEC Tournament Championship, as the Tigers shutout top-seed Florida, 2-0, on Sunday afternoon.

LSU (44-14-1) swept its four games in the annual 12-team test, beating Vanderbilt and Arkansas in mercy-rule style before limiting the Gators to only two hits in Sunday’s finale. The Tigers are in the midst of a nine-game winning streak in which they’ve outscoring opponents 87-5 including 31-4 in the tournament.

After Jake Fraley singled and stole second, McMullen launched a home run over the right field wall. Kurt McCune kept Florida off the scoreboard with hitless eighth and ninth innings to earn his fifth save of the season.

Zac Person (3-1), who was the third of four LSU pitchers, earned the victory by throwing a scoreless bottom of the seventh inning. Alden Cartwright started and allowed only one hit in four innings. Nate Fury gave up the other Florida hit in two innings of work.

The Tigers extended their school record for shutouts in a season to 17.

Florida reliever Ryan Harris took the loss after allowing two runs on three hits in two innings. Starter Karsen Whitson left after six scoreless innings, giving up only three hits and three walks.

LSU is expected to be among NCAA Regional host sites when these are announced approximately 8 p.m. CT on Sunday. With the tournament title, the Tigers also hope to earn a top-eight national seed and the right to play host to an NCAA Super Regional.

The 64-team bracket for the NCAA Tournament will be announced on ESPN at 11 a.m. CT on Monday.

Check back for the complete story.

LSU Players on the All-Tournament Team
P Jared Poche’
P Aaron Nola
2B Conner Hale
OF Mark Laird
OF Sean McMullen
1B Tyler Moore *
SS Alex Bregman
C Kade Scivicque


LSU’s SEC Tournament MVP’s
1986 Jeff Yurtin 3B
1992 Andy Sheets SS
1993 Harry Berrios OF
1994 Russ Johnson SS
2000 Wally Pontiff IF
2008 Blake Dean DH
2009 Mikie Mahtook OF
2010 Austin Nola SS
2013 Chris Cotton P
2014 Tyler Moore 1B

LSU’s SEC Tournament Championships
1986 LSU in Baton Rouge, La.
1990* LSU/Mississippi State in Hoover, Ala.
1992 LSU in New Orleans, La.
1993 Western Division – LSU in Baton Rouge, La.; Eastern – Tennessee in Columbia, S.C.
1994 Western Division – LSU in Oxford, Miss.; Eastern – Tennessee in Lexington, Ky.
2000 LSU in Hoover, Ala.
2008 LSU in Hoover, Ala.
2009 LSU in Hoover, Ala.
2010 LSU in Hoover, Ala.
2013 LSU in Hoover, Ala.
2014 LSU in Hoover, Ala.

* LSU and Mississippi State were declared tournament co-champions when lightning and rain ended play in Game 11 with LSU leading 6-0 in the bottom of the fourth inning.


Follow us

Don't be shy, get in touch. We love meeting interesting people and making new friends.

Most popular